What Are Chakras?

What Are Chakras?
A Chakra(pronounced "cha"-"kra") is a center of energy. Originating from Sanskrit, it literally means “wheel” by association with its function as a vortex of spinning energy interacting with various systems in the body. When you look at how the energy flows from the chakras throughout the body it looks like branches and roots of a tree. 

While the first references to Chakras were found in Hindu scriptures, the teachings of Buddhists, Tibetans, Mayans, Kabbalists, and Christians, among others, acknowledge the chakras(energy centers) and refer to a similar system in their teachings. 
These energy centers within the human body help to regulate the body from organ function to the immune system and emotions. We naturally experience energy blocks, stagnation, and imbalance in our Chakras. It is unavoidable. 

Everything has energy and can have a positive or negative effect. Emotions are even energy.  Negative or repressed thoughts, memories, emotions, and beliefs can cause energy blocks or sluggish centers. Long-standing fears and trauma from childhood, crowded shopping centers/events, bad traffic jams, and major life/world events can negatively impact our energy centers.

Although there are 114 Chakras, four are dormant and two are outside the physical body. That leaves us with 108 active Chakras but we will only be covering the 7 main Chakras. These seven are positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each Chakra has its own vibrational frequency, that is depicted through a specific Chakra color, and governs specific functions. The 7 main Chakras play a big role in balancing your Mind, Body, and Spirit.

1st - Root or Base Chakra/ Muladhara
Basic Survival, Grounded, Security, Prosperous, Birth Issues 
Color: Red/Black/Gray 
Location: Base of spine/Pubic bone 

2nd - Sacral Chakra/Svadhisthana
Creativity, Emotional Stability, Sexuality, Well-Being, Abundance 
Color: Orange 
Location: Sacrum or lower abdomen 

3rd - Solar Plexus Chakra/Manipura
Personal Power, Purpose, Self-esteem, Self-worth, Self-confidence 
Color: Yellow 
Location: Just below base of sternum 

4th - Heart Chakra/ Anahata
Empathy, Love, Compassion, Inner Peace 
Color: Green/Pink 
Location: Center of chest 

5th - Throat Chakra/ Vishuddha
Communication, Self-expression, Speaking Personal Truth 
Color: Light Blue/Blue 
Location: Base of throat/neck 

6th - Brow or Third-Eye Chakra/ Ajna
Decision making, Intuition, Imagination, Wisdom 
Color: Indigo/Purple 
Location: between eyebrows/Forehead 

7th - Crown Chakra/ Sahasrara
Spiritual Connection, Soul, Higher Self 
Color: Purple/White 
Location: Top of Head 

If our Chakras stay sluggish or blocked, it can lead to major physical or psychological illnesses.  So it is important to your wellbeing to remove the negative energy and get your Chakras into a balanced state.  Getting a Chakra Cleanse & Balancing session with an energy healer is best,  but there are things you can do at home. 

**Want a Chakra Balancing session? I offer In-person sessions at Skye Apothecary in Clanton, AL Call 205-224-6827 to book an in-person session.  Not local? No worries! I offer Distance Chakra Balancing sessions as well. Check out all my energy healing sessions here.